How To Cite

Book, one author

Churchill, W. (1949). Their finest hour. Houghton Mifflin.

Book, two to five authors

Herrnstein, R., & Murray, C. (1994). The bell curve: intelligence and class structure in American life. New York, NY: Free Press.

Book, six or more authors

Iverson, C., Christiansen, S., Flanagin, A., Fontanarosa, P. B., Glass, R. M., Gregoline, B., et al. (2007). AMA manual of style: a guide for authors and editors. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

(Iverson, et al., 2007)

Book, editor(s)

Piotrowski, N. (Ed.). (2010). Salem health: psychology & mental health. Salem Press.

Book, corporate author

National Geographic. (2002). Field guide to the birds of North America. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic.

Book, anonymous author/no author given

Primary colors: a novel of politics. (1996). New York, NY: Random House.

Article in Magazine (print)

Chamberlin, J., Novotney, A., Packard, E., & Price, M. (2008, May). Enhancing worker well-being: Occupational health psychologists convene to share their research on work, stress, and health. Monitor on Psychology, 39(5), 26-29.

Article in Magazine (online)

Clay, R. (2008, June). Science vs. ideology: Psychologists fight back about the misuse of research. Monitor on Psychology, 39(6). http://www.apa.org/monitor

(Clay, 2008)

Article in Newspaper (print)

Section 7.01

Bompey, N. (2011, March 30). Hospital saves Health Adventure. The Asheville Citizen-Times, pp.A1, A7.

Article in Newspaper

(online)

Section 7.01

Wingfield, N., & Guth, R. A. (2011, March 30). Microsoft co-founder hits out at Gates. The Wall Street Journal. Retrieved from http://online.wsj.com.

Article in Journal

(without DOI)

{ DOI -- digital object identifier }

Section 7.01

Light, M. A., & Light, I. H. (2008). The geographic expansion of Mexican immigration in the United States and its implications for local law enforcement. Law Enforcement Executive Forum Journal, 8(1), 71-82.

Article in Journal

(with DOI)

Section 7.01

{ DOI -- digital object identifier }

Herbst-Damm, K. L., & Kulik, J. A. (2005). Volunteer support, marital status, and the survival times of terminally ill patients. Health Psychology, 24, 225-229. doi:10.1037/0278-6133.24.2.225

Encyclopedia, author/editor (print)

Section 7.02

Seiber, R. (2002). Visual arts of black Africa. Encyclopedia Americana. (11th ed., Vol. 1, pp. 284-288). Danbury, CT: Grolier.

Encyclopedia, author/editor (online)

Section 7.02

Hooker, R. (2004). Early Japanese visual arts. In Encyclopedia Britannica Online. Retrieved from  http://search.eb.com/eb/article-9399848

Encyclopedia, no author/editor (print)

Section 7.02

Minorca. (2005). Encyclopedia Britannica. (15^th ed., vol. 8, pp.169). Chicago, IL: Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc.

Encyclopedia, no author/editor (online)

Section 7.02

Heuristic. (1980). In Merriam-Webster's online dictionary (11th ed.). Retrieved from http://www.m-w.com/dictionary/heuristic

Website, no author (entire site)

Interactive: how stress affects our bodies (2011). Retrieved March 30, 2011, from http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/15843196/

Hogan, L. (2009, August 24). Ancient skeletons could help solve mystery of rare disease.  Retrieved http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ancient-skeletons-could-help--solve-mystery-of-rare-disease-1867610.html

DVD, Video, or Film Recording

Section 7.07

American Psychological Association. (Producer). (2000). Responding therapeutically to patient expressions of sexual attraction [DVD]. Available from http://www.apa.org/videos

E-Books

Section 7.02

Koltsova, V., Oleinik, Y., Gilgen, A., & Gilgen, C. (1996). Post-Soviet perspectives on Russian psychology.  Retrieved from http://ebooks.abc-clio.com