Skip to main content

Free Online Resources

Free internet resources for research and writing.

Literature Websites

The Early Americas Digital Archive: Online archive of texts and links to text originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820

Literary Criticism on the Internet: Online literary criticism for British and American authors of the 19th and 20th centuries, with links to overviews, biographical information, and criticism of individual works.

Literary Resources - American: Maintained by Jack Lynch of Rutgers University, this page contains links to information on a wide variety of American authors, literary movements, and genres, including fiction, drama, and poetry.

Perspectives in American Literature: Historical context, biographies, bibliographies, study questions and links to relevant sites

Project Bartleby: Archive of online texts that includes many relevant poems, fiction and nonfiction works, and reference books

Project Gutenberg: Online access to many books that are no longer in copyright, including full texts for many of the major novels, plays, and poems in American literature

The Walt Whitman Archive: Access to a large portion of Whitman's writings and also offers resources, study guides, and criticism

Willa Cather Archive: From the University of Nebraska - Lincoln, comes this excellent site, containing extensive information on Cather and her times, including reliable annotated e-texts, a biography, bibliographies, illustrations, and links.

W.W. Norton Anthology of American Literature: Links to background and summary information on all major periods of American literature

American Literature

Emily Dickinson Archive: High resolution images of the manuscripts of one of America's foremost 19th Century poets.

Literary Criticism on the Internet: Online literary criticism for British and American authors of the 19th and 20th centuries, with links to overviews, biographical information, and criticism of individual works.

Literary Criticism at Drexel University: Contains full text criticism and historical context for a number of American authors and offers author, title, and time period searches

Literary Resources - American: Maintained by Jack Lynch of Rutgers University, this page contains links to information on a wide variety of American authors, literary movements, and genres, including fiction, drama, and poetry.

Project Bartleby: Archive of online texts that includes many relevant poems, fiction and nonfiction works, and reference books

Willa Cather Archive: From the University of Nebraska - Lincoln, comes this excellent site, containing extensive information on Cather and her times, including reliable annotated e-texts, a biography, bibliographies, illustrations, and links.

British Literature

Bibliomania: Free online books and extensive, insightful study guides on the themes and characters of hundreds of British literary works.

Literary Resources - Twentieth Century British, Irish, and Commonwealth: Links to collections about major literary movements and eras (eg. World War I) as well as notable authors.

Voice of the Shuttle: This extensive site lists links to other Web sites: general resources in Victorian literature; authors, works, projects; selected social issues and writing; criticism and critics (general); journals; as well as listservs and newsgroups.

Project Gutenberg: Large collection of free ebooks in the public domain, this site may save you some money when purchasing text books, particularly if the novel you are reading is out of copyright.

Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature: A comprehensive anthology and guide to English literature of the Middle Ages, Renaissance, Seventeenth Century, Restoration and Eighteenth Century.