Biodiversity Heritage Library: A collaborative effort of natural history and botanical garden libraries to digitize collections, this archive include thousands of digital titles that can be browsed or searched. Contains books and other documents on a variety of topics, including forestry, horticulture, wildlife, and more.
Evolution of the Conservation Movement: Provides an in-depth timeline and chronology of the movement to conserve America's wild spaces and species, with links to documents and more information.
Journal of Fish and Wildlife Management: Public domain journal with current and limited archived issues
North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission: Policies, budget, maps, career information, reports and other information from the NCWRC
North Carolina Natural Heritage Program: This site, run in partnership with the NC Dept. of Environment and Natural Resources, creates maps and collects information about rare species, natural communities, and conservation sites. An online form allows users to request information about specific conservation sites and endangered species.
National Survey of Fishing, Hunting, and Wildlife-Associated Recreation: Comprehensive survey from the US Census Bureau of wildlife related activities in all fifty states, with reports released every five years going back to 1991. Scroll down for North Carolina reports.
Wildlife Management Institute: Founded in 1911, WMI is a private, nonprofit, scientific and educational organization, dedicated to the conservation, enhancement and professional management of North America's wildlife and other natural resources
The Wildlife Society: A non-profit scientific and educational association dedicated to excellence in wildlife stewardship through science and education, The Wildlife Society's site lists programs in Wildlife, guidelines for certification as a Wildlife Biologist, jobs in Wildlife, and much more.
American Association of Landscape Architects: Association homepage contains information in its mission, publications and programs
American Horticultural Society: Publications, information and resources from one of the country's oldest gardening organizations
International Society for Aboriculture: An excellent site for arborists, this contains information about certification, conferences and professional development, podcasts, a discussion forum, and more.
Silvics of North America: Describes the silvical characteristics of about 200 forest tree species and varieties. Divided into 2 works: conifers and hardwoods.
Cradle of Forestry: Site devoted to supporting the educational programs of the US Forest Service located in Pisgah National Forest.
Dendrology at Virginia Tech: From Virginia Tech's Department of Forest Biology and Dendrology Education, this site contains fact sheets, identification guides, easy to search databases, and links.
United States Forest Service: Includes news, maps, brochures, job listings, publications and research activies of the USFS.
Forest Service Southern Research Station: The Southern Research Station's site provides information, publications, videos, news, and more on temperate and tropical forests, forest resources, and forest products, including a wealth of long-term datasets and conclusions on the dynamics of tree plantations and natural stands, watersheds, and wildlife habitats.
Society of American Foresters: Home page of the scientific and educational organization representing the forestry profession in the United States.
State of the World's Forests: Published by the United Nations every two years to give an in-depth and up-to-date overview of the status of forests worldwide and new developments in the forestry sector.
Audubon Society Online:Bird and birding resources; includes species info, FAQs, links, and video
Carolina Field Birders: A non-profit birding club serving Haywood and Jackson Counties with club meetings held at the United Community Bank at 1640 East Main Street in Sylva on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:30. Monthly field trips are held on the third Thursday and last Saturday of each month. Contact Sean O'Connell at soconnell@email.wcu.edu for more information.
Cornell University/ All About Birds: General introduction to birds and birdwatching including Nest Cams, information on the Great Backyard Bird Count, and other popular birding resources from Cornell University’s Ornithology Department
Ornithological Societies of North America: Links to member societies, the newsletter, and an excellent and extensive jobs page, which includes many postings for technician positions across the USA.
Searchable Ornithological Research Archives (SORA): This excellent resource from the University of New Mexico Libraries provides free access to older (pre-2005) issues of such journals as the Journal of Field Ornithology, Condor, the Journal of Raptor Research, and North American Bird Bander.
USGS/Patuxent Wildlife Research Center: Information from the U.S. Government research center in Patuxent, Maryland includes links to the bird banding and breeding programs at the Center plus other relevant research
Smithsonian Institution/Birdnet: Links to major ornithology research organizations as well as information on research grants, online literature, and more